Top » Catalog » Lost Classics »


Sequel to Murder

Sequel to Murder

Anthony Gilbert, the pseudonym of Lucy Beatrice Malleson (1899-1973), is remembered for the creation of Arthur Crook, who unlike aristocratic sleuths such as Lord Peter Wimsey and Albert Campion is earthy and occasionally (as editor John Cooper says in the introduction) outrageously cheeky, with a sensitivity with the down-and-outers who are caught up in crime. Beginning in 1936, Gilbert wrote more than 50 novels featuring Arthur Crook, a London lawyer who spends as much time in pubs as in his office, and who goes to outlandish, and not always legal, lengths to clear his clients. Sequel to Murder includes all the Arthur Crook short cases, as well as a selection of Gilbert's other mystery stories. This is the thirty-ninth volume in Crippen & Landru's Lost Classics series -- previously uncollected detective and mystery stories by great writers of the past.

Available Options:
format: Clothbound with dust jacket ($29.00)
Trade Softcover ($19.00)

Cover Artists
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
We Accept
0 items
Share Product
Share via E-Mail
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter